Present at the meeting were Commissioners:

COMMISSIONERS GENERAL SESSION April 24, 2017

Brenda K. Benner-Chairman Paul L. Rudy Jr-Vice-Chairman Stephen C. Naylor- Secretary William R. Bunt-Solicitor Kathy Burkholder- Chief Clerk

Present from the Press: Jim Ryan

Present from the Public: Ed Albright, Miriam Briscoe, Mary College, Steve Copp, Jason Finnerty, Melvin Heffley, Gary Korth, Dave Magee, Allen Metzger, Jeannine Matulevich, Carl Nace, Harva Owings Baughman, Nancy Pote, Jill Quigley, Marty Smith, Mike Steadele

Commissioner Benner opened the meeting at 10:00 AM on April 24, 2017 with the Pledge to the Flag and a moment of silence in the Commissioners Conference Room. The meeting was being recorded.

Public Comment: Ed Albright commended the County for the cleaning of their County buildings.

Approval of Minutes: Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the minutes of April 10, 2017. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve the warrant list for the week of April 17, 2017 in the amount of \$127,657.40 and April 24, 2017 in the amount of \$543,130.95. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve a 2016/2017 Adult Probation and Parole System Improvement Grant in the amount of \$5,641.00 to provide non-lethal equipment and training from PCCD. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the 2017/2022 Grant-In-Aid and Supervision Funds Agreement which will be effective July, 2017 and end on June 30, 2022 for Probation & Parole. This grant provides Grant-In-Aid to qualified counties which provides additional probation staff for pre-sentenced investigations and for improved probation supervison and programs. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the PCCD grant application in the amount of \$25,000 for obtaining or updating equipment for the Perry County Drug Task Force. The equipment will allow detectives to conduct invetigations and educate youth. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve the proposal from Culligan to upgrade and replace the Water Softener at the Prison in the amount of \$8335.00, this will allow multiple units to come on/off line as flow requires. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the proposal from Pro-Lawn to pave the Food Bank driveway new addition in the amount of \$8,350.00. Work is scheduled for the last week of May 2017. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to accept the resignation for John Patterson and Brian Peters from the Perry County Economic Development Board effective April 13, 2017. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve the Amendment to a Purchase of Service Ageement for the Office of Aging and CST-Link to Life to allow a cellular PERS system by a Perry County consumer to be approved at a cost of \$22.00 per month per senior for a phone land line and \$30.00 per month for a Cellular. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to amend the agenda to include the request for an extension to D.C.E.D. to

H:\minutes\Commissioners Minutes\2017\4.24.doc

spend the remainder of money for a HOME project. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve Seda-COG on behalf of the County to finish out the remainder of the grant and available balance for completion of a Home project. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Employee Status: None.

Solicitors Report: Some questions were asked by Commissioner Naylor and answered by Solicitor Bunt during the Solicitor Report.

Public Comment: The Natural Gas Cooperative was discussed.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to adjourn 10:20 AM. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Kathy Burkholder, Chief Clerk

Stephen C. Naylor, Secretary