H:\minutes\Commissioners Minutes\2019\12.23.19.doc

COMMISSIONERS GENERAL SESSION December 23, 2019

Present at the meeting were

Commissioners:

Brenda K. Benner – Chairman Paul L. Rudy Jr. – Vice-Chairman Stephen C. Naylor - Secretary Shannon Hines - Chief Clerk William R. Bunt - Solicitor

Present from the Press: None

Present from the Public: Brenda Albright, Karen Anderson, Karen Barclay, Harva Owings Baughman, Frank Campbell, Jared Charles, Noah Cline, Mary Colledge, Gary Eby, Jan Gibboney, Dave Hammar, Dean Hench, Sarah Keller, Linda Lawlor, Dave Magee, Rich Pluta, Bob Ressler, Marty Smith, Wes Smith, Michelle Thebes, Randy Waggoner, Brenda Watson, Wendy Welfley, Melanie Wertz, Greg Wirth, and Joy Zerance.

Commissioner Benner opened the meeting at 10:00 a.m. on December 23, 2019 with the Pledge to the Flag and a moment of silence. The meeting was recorded by the County.

Public Comments: Karen Anderson thanked Commissioner Naylor for his service for his service on the board. She also stated that Commissioner Rudy is not a resident of the County and should not be on the board. Ms. Anderson questioned if Commissioner Benner had compiled a list of information for the incoming Commissioners. She also asked what the arrangement was for 2020, between the solicitor and the County.

Melanie Wertz voiced her disapproval of the approved 2020 County budget and the \$1.7 million dollar deficit. She stated that Commissioner Rudy will not provide proof of his residency and due to a re-vote at a previous Salary Board meeting, she believed the budget had been passed illegally. Ms. Wertz also commented on the County financial issues. She thanked Commissioner Naylor for his service to the County.

Dean Hench questioned where the County stood financially and what amount was in the reserves. He also asked what was being done to counter-balance the budget deficit and if taxes would be raised.

Approval of Minutes: Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the minutes of December 16, 2019. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Warrant List: Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve the warrant lists dated December 18, 2019 (\$28,166.00) and December 24, 2019 (\$294,481.83). Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Meeting Business: Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the proposal for engineering services with HRG for the Prison Electrical Panel Upgrade Project at a cost of \$9,850.00. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the Costars contract with Edwin L. Heim Company for the Prison Door Controls project at a cost not to exceed \$179,480.00. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

H:\minutes\Commissioners Minutes\2019\12.23.19.doc

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the subrecipient agreement between Perry County and the Howe Township Municipal Authority for CDBG fund usage in the amount of \$73,103.00. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Employee Status: Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve the appointment of Tiffany A. Kreps to the position of 2nd Deputy Recorder of Deeds, Register of Wills, and Clerk of the Orphan's Court, in the Register and Recorder's Office effective January 6, 2020. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to accept the resignation of Kathy Hoover, Part Time Clerk in the Prothonotary's Office, effective January 3, 2020. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to accept the resignation of Carolina Morris, Part Time Cook in the Perry County Prison, effective December 22, 2019. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Solicitors	Report:	None
------------	---------	------

Public Comments: None

Comments from Press: None

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to adjourn at 10:26 a.m. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Shannon Hines, Chief Clerk	Stephen C. Naylor, Secretary