## COMMISSIONERS GENERAL SESSION February 24, 2014

Present at the meeting were Commissioners: Brenda K. Benner-Chairman Stephen C. Naylor-Vice-Chairman Paul L. Rudy Jr.- Secretary Kathy Burkholder-Chief Clerk William R. Bunt- Solicitor

**Present from the Press:** Sean Sauro, Perry County Times

**Present from the Public**: Russell Hoover, Barbara Holliman, Gary Eby, Glenn Holliman, Dennis Hocker, Tom Bell, Dave Magee, Allen Metzger

Commissioner Benner opened the meeting at 10:00 AM on February 24, 2014 with the Pledge to the Flag and a moment of silence.

Public Comment: None.

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the minutes of February 10, 2014. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve the warrant list for February 17, 2014 for a total of \$185,796.81 and a total of 159,844.83 for the week of February 24, 2014. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to approve the appointment of Rhonda Campbell, Elliottsburg to the Perry County Economic Development Authority Board for a four year term that expires December 2014. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Based on the recommendation of the Perry County D&A Board, Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve the following Mh/IDD contracts for MH services:

• Linda Shumaker- MH Services, Increase \$19,650 renewal

• PMHCC, Inc.- MH Services, Forensic Training-\$4,900 new contract

Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Based on the recommendation of the Drug & Alcohol Board, Commissioner Naylor made a motion to approve the contract with Catholic Charities for a state wide rate. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Rudy made a motion to adopt Resolution 2014-1 for the Perry County Bicentennial Committee. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried. The year 2020 marks the Bicentennial year of Perry County and over the next six years various communities within Perry County will be celebrating important historical milestones. The goal of the committee is to facilitate the creation of events to enhance a sense of historical significance to the County.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to adopt Ordinance 2014-1 and 2014 -2 to establish Hazardous Materials fees and to establish a Hazardous Material Emergency Response Account for the County. A list of rates and item descriptions are on file and will be recorded in the Register/Recorder Office. The Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency directive requires each county within the Commonwealth to have and dispatch a certified Hazardous Materials Response Team to hazardous materials incidents. Perry County does this through their LEPC (Local Emergency Planning Committee). Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

**Employee Status:** Commissioner Rudy made a motion to appoint Don Harriman as a part time tipstaff, at an hourly rate of \$9.42, not less than \$25.00 per day, effective February 25, 2014. Commissioner

H:\minutes\Commissioners Minutes\2014\2.24.doc

Benner seconded the motion. Commissioner Naylor abstained because of having a previous working relationship. Motion carried.

**Solicitors Report**- Solicitor Bunt gave an update on a lawsuit regarding a former inmate, Omar Littlejohn against three correctional officers at the prison. Mr. Omarjohn already has a pending lawsuit against the warden.

The pending lawsuit against the county and transportation director was amended two times. The current lawsuit is against the P.C.T.A. director and Absolute Auto.

An employee issue has been resolved between an employee and supervisor at step one of the grievance policy for the County.

## **Open Forum for the Press:** None.

Public Comments: Dave Magee and Allen Metzger, Marysville Boro Council commended the commissioners for using Community Development Block Grant Funds to assist the Boro with the demolition of a blighted property the Boro purchased on Valley Street that was creating a safety hazard for the community.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to adjourn at 10:25. Commissioner Rudy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Kathy Burkholder, Chief Clerk

Paul Rudy Jr., Secretary