## COMMISSIONERS GENERAL SESSION December 13, 2010

Present at the meeting were Commissioners:

John J. Amsler-Chairman Brenda K. Benner – Vice-Chairman Stephen C. Naylor- Secretary William R. Bunt-Solicitor Kathy Burkholder- Chief Clerk

**Present from the Press:** Thom Casey, Perry County Times

**Present from the Public**: Christopher Rocky, Kathy Possinger, Ray Spencer, Becky Vogel, V.Art Kling

Commissioner Amsler opened the meeting at 10:00 AM on December 13, 2010 with the Pledge to the Flag and a moment of silence.

## Public Comments: None.

Commissioner Benner made a motion to approve the minutes of December 6, 2010. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to sign the warrant list in the amount of \$108,939.15. Commissioner Benner seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Kathy Possinger, Executive Director and Chris Rockey met with the Board to give an update on the Community Action Commission. They have a satellite office at 129 Market Street, Newport. They have served 1200 Perry County residents at the Newport Office providing emergency and nutritional services. They are also working with the Perry County Transportation Authority to assist people that are working in entry level positions to assist with transportation to work due to hardships. They are currently working on a United Way Grant with Transportation.

Becky Vogel and Ray Spencer met with the Board to give an update on projects that Tri-County Housing has recently completed (Newport Square Apartments and the Newport Hotel Apartments). Both projects are fully occupied with individuals on waiting lists. Tri-County Housing is willing to discuss and evaluate potential projects that are consistent with residents' needs and the County's priorities.

Commissioner Naylor made a motion to sign the Recycling Agreement between the County and Vincent A. Sharar. Commissioner Benner seconded the motion. Motion carried. This Agreement is valid from January 1, 2011 through August 31, 2011. Effective January 1, 2011, the five designated recycling sites specified in the contract will accept glass for a pass through fee.

Based on the recommendation of the Cumberland/Perry Drug & Alcohol Commission, Commissioner Naylor made a motion to amend the Agreement with American Lung Association. The agreement amount is reduced from \$31,575.84 to \$25,178.58 of which \$3,260.70 is for services in Perry County. Commissioner Benner seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Based on the recommendation of the Cumberland/Perry MH/MR Board, Commissioner Benner made a motion to approve the following contracts. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried.

AHEDD, Inc. MH10-0004 \$1,550 MH Services

H:\minutes\Commissioners Minutes\2010\CommissionersMin.2010.12.13.doc			
Aurora Social Rehab	MH10-0015	\$230,351	MH Services
Cumberland County Prison	MH10-0020	\$30,093	MH Services
Cumberland County Transp.	MH10-0016	\$161,587	MH Services
Dauphin County MH-MR	MH10-0038	\$349,187	MH Services
Keystone Service Systems	MH10-0009	\$650,265	MH Services
Linda K. Shumaker	MH10-0045	\$16,750	<b>MH-Services</b>
Living Unlimited, Inc.	MH10-0051	\$6,158	MH Services
NAMI of Cumberland & Perr	ry MH10-0011	\$20,200	MH Services
New Visions, Inc.	MH10-0006	\$2,113,661	MH Services
NHS Stevens Center	MH10-0012	\$2,857,525	MH Services
Redevelopment Authority	MH10-0002	\$98,328	MH Services
Riverside Associates, PC	MH10-0041	\$27,000	MH Services
Mental Health of Capital Reg	g.MH10-0018	\$93,140	MH Services
Thomas James, MS	MH10-0010	\$10,083	MH Services
		Total \$6,665,8	378

## Employee Status: None.

Solicitors Report: For informational purposes Solicitor Bunt reported the revised Union Contract for the Prison will be discussed with the union and representatives to discuss why the contract was voted down. Mr. Bunt is reviewing information regarding retirement information by the HAY Group.

Public Comments: None

Open Forum for the Press: None

Commissioner Benner made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Naylor seconded the motion. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 10:20 A.M.

Kathy Burkholder- Chief Clerk

Stephen C. Naylor – Secretary