COMMISSIONERS GENERAL SESSION January 6, 2020

Present at the meeting were Commissioners:

Brian S. Allen – Chairman Gary R. Eby – Vice-Chairman Brenda L. Watson - Secretary Shannon Hines - Chief Clerk William R. Bunt - Solicitor

Present from the Press: Jim Ryan

Present from the Public: Brenda Albright, Ed Albright Jr., Karen Anderson, Alane Balchunas, Karen Barclay, Miriam Briscoe, Frank Campbell, Karl Cless, Noah Cline, Mary Colledge, Jason Finnerty, Rich Fultz, Kristie Gantt, Jan Gibboney, Dave Hammar, Wayne Hartzell, Kathy Hoover, Sarah Keller, Heather Kelly Weisen, Dave Magee, Helen Michener, Anne Miller, Kathy Morrow, Craig Nace, Rich Pluta, Nancy Pote, Craig Sheaffer, Marty Smith, Alyson Thebes, Michelle Thebes, Melanie Wertz, Greg Wirth, Joy Zerance, and Christina Zook.

Commissioner Allen opened the meeting at 10:00 a.m. on January 6, 2020 with the Pledge to the Flag and a moment of silence. The meeting was recorded by the County, Jim Lucas, and Karen Anderson.

Commissioner Allen made a motion to name Solicitor Bunt temporary chair for reorganization purposes. Commissioner Watson seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Solicitor Bunt requested nominations for Chairman of the Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Eby made a motion to nominate Brian S. Allen as Chairman of the Perry County Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Watson seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Solicitor Bunt requested nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Allen made a motion to nominate Gary R. Eby as Vice-Chairman of the Perry County Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Watson seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Solicitor Bunt requested nominations for Secretary of the Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Eby made a motion to nominate Brenda L. Watson as Secretary of the Perry County Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Allen seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Solicitor Bunt then turned the meeting over to Commissioner Allen as Chairman.

Public Comments: Melanie Wertz asked if the County had looked at other attorneys to fill the role of County Solicitor. She also questioned what Solicitor Bunt's pay would be and if medical insurance would continue to be provided.

Miriam Briscoe welcomed the new Commissioners and encouraged those in the audience to continue to ask questions. She also commented on the need for consideration of other individuals for County positions.

Rich Pluta, representing the Perry County Chamber of Commerce, offered congratulations to the Commissioners, welcomed them, and offered the Chamber's assistance to the Board.

Frank Campbell, representing the Perry County Economic Development Corporation, offered assistance to the Commissioners moving forward.

H:\minutes\Commissioners Minutes\2020\01.06.20.doc

Craig Nace, representing the Duncannon EMS, welcomed the new Commissioners.

Craig Sheaffer, representing Bill Lyons, provided best wishes to the Commissioners.

Approval of Minutes: Commissioner Watson made a motion to approve the minutes of December 23, 2019 as written. Commissioner Eby seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Warrant List: Commissioner Eby made a motion to approve the warrant list dated January 7, 2020 for Fiscal Year 2019 in the amount of \$377,914.46. Commissioner Watson seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Watson made a motion to approve the warrant list dated January 7, 2020 for Fiscal Year 2020 in the amount of \$70,339.57. Commissioner Eby seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Meeting Business: Commissioner Eby made a motion to reappoint Williams Bunt as County Solicitor at an annual rate of \$51,185 with health insurance subject to the same premium share as other County employees. Commissioner Watson seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Watson made a motion to reappoint Shannon Hines as Chief Clerk. Commissioner Eby seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Watson made a motion to appoint the Commissioners to the boards as provided in the attached listing. Commissioner Eby seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Eby made a motion to reappoint Larry Reisinger as the second representative on the SEDA-COG Board of Directors for the year 2020. Commissioner Watson seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Watson made the motion to reappoint Cathy Gilbert, Donny Bartch, and Thomas Graupensperger to the Perry County Planning Commission. Commissioner Eby seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Employee Status: Commissioner Watson made a motion to approve the appointment of Sean McFadden to the position of unpaid intern, in the Emergency Management Office effective January 6, 2020. Commissioner Eby seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Commissioner Watson made a motion to approve the appointment of Adam Shope and Dawn Miller to the position of Deputy Coroner, in the Coroner's Office effective January 6, 2020. Commissioner Eby seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Solicitors Report: Solicitor Bunt thanked the Commissioners for his reappointment.

Public Comments: Dave Magee commented on Commissioner Eby being appointed to the H.A.T.S. Committee and requested he facilitate improvements for the bridge located on South Main Street in Marysville.

Miriam Briscoe commented on continued support for transparency. She also asked if there was anywhere, she could see qualifications or conflicts of interest as related to the board appointments to the committees that occurred during the meeting.

H:minutes/Commissioners Minutes/2020/01.06.20.doc Melanie Wertz opposed the County providing health insurance to Solicitor Bunt.

Karen Anderson commented on the 2020 budget being reopened and also asked if the agendas for the budget meetings being held on Fridays at 9 a.m. would be posted on the County website.

Anne Miller asked if emphasis would be placed on libraries and recycling programs in the County.

Dave Magee asked if all special interest groups that had requested funding had been notified of the budget meetings.

Comments from Press: Jim Ryan asked if there would be any main areas of focus or concern during the upcoming budget meetings.

Commissioner Eby made a motion to adjourn at 10:26 a.m. Commissioner Watson seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Shannon Hines, Chief Clerk

Brenda L. Watson, Secretary

Brian Allen

Food Bank Advisory Board – Chairperson County Records Committee D & A Drug and Alcohol Commission Liaison L E P C Sheriff Dept. Liaison Probation Dept. Liaison

Gary Eby

MH/IDD -Mental Health/Intellectual Development Disabilities Cumberland
Family Center
C & Y Children and Youth Liaison
PCTA Perry County Transportation Authority Advisory Board
Perry Housing Authority
9-1-1 Liaison
Soil Conservation
H.A.T.S. Coordinating and Technical Committee
Office of the Aging Liaison

Brenda Watson

CPEC Central Pennsylvania Energy Consortium SEDA COG Susquehanna Economic Development Association – Council of Government WIB Workforce Investment Board CREDC PCEDC Perry County Economic Development Corporation PCEDA Perry County Economic Development Authority PCPC Perry County Planning Commission Tri-County Regional Planning